American 80’s rockers Tora Tora have returned with their first album of new tracks in over 25 years and “Bastards of Beale” is at least as good as the band’s classic albums, and probably even better! The album was released on 22nd February by Frontiers Music and it features all four original members of the band. The first track to be released, “Rose of Jericho” was included on the Friday NI Rocks Show back in December and “Silence the Sirens” was featured on the Show on 25th January.


Tora Tora formed in Memphis in 1985 and that original line-up of Anthony Corder on vocals, guitarist Keith Douglas, Patrick Francis on bass and drummer John Patterson has remained constant throughout. The band had split in 1994 after releasing their debut album “Surprise! Attack” in 1989 and “Wild America” in 1992. They also had a track on the soundtrack for “Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure”. A third album, “Revolution Day” was recorded in 1994 but not released before the band parted ways.

Tora Tora reunited in 2008 for a number of appearances and released three compilation / unreleased material albums through FNA Records between 2009 and 2010, before releasing the previously un-released “Revolution Day” album in 2011.

In 2017 the band were approached by Frontiers Music and work commenced on Tora Tora’s first album of new material to be released since 1992! It is most definitely worth checking out as the new tracks certainly tick all the boxes for me!

Check out the Tora Tora website at

Dim lights Embed Embed this video on your site

About “NI Rocks Recommends”

The simple idea behind “NI Rocks Recommends” is to acknowledge and promote some of the great music being submitted to Rock Radio NI. The albums that I’ll be recommending are those that you’ll hear me playing tracks from on my shows. I'll not be giving marks or ratings or analyzing the tracks in great detail; just telling you something about the artist and the album. It’s a personal recommendation to go check something out, not a traditional “review”!