Hank Erix is best known as the frontman of Swedish AOR band Houston, but on 5th October he released his first solo album. It is called “Nothing But Trouble” and it was released by Livewire / Cargo Records. The album is a bit heavier than the usual offering from Houston and it features a host of musicians who have been involved in numerous other projects. The track “Turn To Darkness” was included on the Friday NI Rocks Show on 12th October.


Hank Erix has released three albums with Houston – the self-titled debut in 2010, followed by “II” in 2013 and “III” in 2017. The idea of a solo album has been brewing for some time and some of the tracks have been around for a few years. The heavier sound in comparison to Houston works well for me.


The main musicians working with Erix on the album are guitarist Michael Palace (from the band Palace, Kryponite, First Signal etc), bass player Soufian Ma’Aoui (Palace, ex Adrenaline Rush), drummer Mats Erissson (Degreed etc), keyboard player Micke Jansson (Degreed) and rhythm guitarist Daniel Johansson.


In addition there are guest appearances from singer Linnéa Vikström (Therion and QFT - http://www.rockradioni.co.uk/interviews/3355-interview-with-linnea-vikstrom.html ), guitarists Alexander Hagman and Sam Söderlind from Adrenaline Rush and singer Victor Lundberg.

Dim lights Embed Embed this video on your site

About “NI Rocks Recommends”

The simple idea behind “NI Rocks Recommends” is to acknowledge and promote some of the great music being submitted to Rock Radio NI. The albums that I’ll be recommending are those that you’ll hear me playing tracks from on my shows. I'll not be giving marks or ratings or analyzing the tracks in great detail; just telling you something about the artist and the album. It’s a personal recommendation to go check something out, not a traditional “review”!