The latest release from English melodic rock band Newman is “Decade II” which is a double album featuring 17 tracks from albums released in the past ten years and another 17 tracks of previously un-released or rare material. It’s part greatest hits and part bonus material. The album was released on 28th September via AOR Heaven. The previously unreleased track “Liar” was included on the Friday NI Rocks Show on 28th September.


Singer-songwriter Steve Newman formed the band Newman in 1997 and the debut self-titled album was released in 1998. In 2008 the album “Decade” was released – this was a look back at the first ten years of the band and it contained tracks from the albums released during that period as well as previously unreleased material.


“Decade II” continues the Newman story and features tracks from the albums “Primitive Soul” (2007), “The Art of Balance” (2010), “Under Southern Skies” (2011), “Siren” (2013) and “The Elegance Machine” (2016). These have been re-performed and re-recorded. The second CD features two tracks previously only available on the Japanese version of “Under Southern Skies”, songs recorded for “The Elegance Machine” and “Sirens” (2017) that weren’t included on the albums and three tracks that had been submitted to Frontiers Music for consideration.

In addition to Steve Newman on vocals the band features Shaun Bessant on guitar, Paul Boyle on keyboards, David Bartlett on bass and Pete Newdeck on drums. Check out the website here -

Dim lights Embed Embed this video on your site

About “NI Rocks Recommends”

The simple idea behind “NI Rocks Recommends” is to acknowledge and promote some of the great music being submitted to Rock Radio NI. The albums that I’ll be recommending are those that you’ll hear me playing tracks from on my shows. I'll not be giving marks or ratings or analyzing the tracks in great detail; just telling you something about the artist and the album. It’s a personal recommendation to go check something out, not a traditional “review”!