“Magic” is the third album in as many years from multi-national band Serious Black and it was released through AFM Records on 25th August. I was a bit late in picking up on the release, but included the track “Burn! Witches Burn!” on the Friday NI Rocks Show this week! The melodic power metal outfit formed in 2014, with the members all having played for several different bands in the past.

Serious Black released the album “As Daylight Breaks” in 2015, followed by “Mirrorworld” in 2016. “Magic” is the first concept album from the band and it tells the story of a mysterious figure called Mr Nightmist. Hence we have three songs with the word “magic” in the title and another two that refer to witches.

There are 14 tracks on the album, but there is a 2 disc version that comes with a live CD or a box set that also includes an unplugged CD. There is also a black and white vinyl edition.

Serious Black are Urban Breed on vocals. Bob Katsionis and Dominik Sebastian on guitars, Mario Lochert on bass, Jan Vacik on keyboards and Alex Holzwarth on drums.

Find out more at http://www.serious-black.com/


Dim lights Embed Embed this video on your site


About “NI Rocks Recommends”

The simple idea behind “NI Rocks Recommends” is to acknowledge and promote some of the great music being submitted to Rock Radio NI. I'll not be giving marks or ratings or analyzing the tracks in great detail; just telling you something about the artist and the album. It’s a personal recommendation to go check something out, not a traditional “review”!

My musical tastes cover most things rock; from the not too melodic to the not too heavy. The albums that I’ll be recommending are those that you’ll hear me playing tracks from on my shows on Rock Radio NI.

Check out NI Rocks on Facebook – www.facebook.com/NIRocks or Twitter - www.twitter.com/NIrelandRocks


Dim lights Embed Embed this video on your site