Swedish band Ages of Reflection released their debut album “In The Heat of the Night” through AOR Heaven on 24th February. The album though is actually the outcome of many years of planning, with the founding members of the band having worked together in other bands for some time. The opportunity to work together on the AOR inspired tracks came in 2013 and over the past couple of years they have working to deliver their vision. I played the opening track “Borderline” on the Friday NI Rocks Show on 13th January.



The founding members were Carl Berglund on guitar and Jan Skärming on bass. They brought on-board lead guitarist Jonas Nordquist, lead singer Lars Nygren and drummer Michael Sjöö to complete the band and recorded the album in their own studio in Vasteras. Mixing and mastering was handled by Erik Mårtensson.

There are 11 tracks on the album, although that includes two versions of the track “Every Time”. My own personal favourites are “Borderline”, “Every Time” (the first version), “In The Heat of the Night” (which starts with a reading of Colonel Tim Collins’ speech ahead of the invasion of Iraq in 2003) and “Evelyn”.

The band’s website is http://www.ageofreflection.com/

Dim lights Embed Embed this video on your site

About “NI Rocks Recommends”

The simple idea behind “NI Rocks Recommends” is to acknowledge and promote some of the great music being submitted to Rock Radio NI. I'll not be giving marks or ratings or analyzing the tracks in great detail; just telling you something about the artist and the album. It’s a personal recommendation to go check someth    ing out, not a traditional “review”!

My musical tastes cover most things rock; from the not too melodic to the not too heavy. The albums that I’ll be recommending are those that you’ll hear me playing tracks from on my shows on Rock Radio NI.


Check out NI Rocks on Facebook – www.facebook.com/NIRocks or Twitter - www.twitter.com/NIrelandRocks