“Chronicles of Aravan” is the sixth album from Spanish band DarkSun and this English language version was released by FC Metal on 28th October; following on from its release in their home country earlier in the year. Most of the tracks on the album tell the story of a warrior called Aravan and his revenge against those that burned his village and killed everyone. The track “Dragon Heart” was included on the NI Rocks A-Z Show on 11th October, “The Battle” was on the Friday NI Rocks Show on 4th November and “Broken Dreams” on the Friday NI Rocks Show on 18th November.


DarkSun formed in Spain in 2002 and released their debut album in 2004. The current line-up is Daniel Gonzalez on vocals, Tino Hevia and David Figueiras on guitars, Daniel Cabal on drums and Adrian Huelga on bass.

There are 11 tracks on the album and the first nine tell the story of Aravan. The final two tracks are “Fragile”, which features guest vocals from Ralf Scheepers and “Broken Dreams” which features Peavy Wagner from Rage. In addition to the three tracks that I’ve played on the NI Rocks Shows already, my other favourite would be “The Legacy”.

Check out the band on Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/DarksunOficial/ or on their website - http://darksunweb.com/


About “NI Rocks Recommends”

The simple idea behind “NI Rocks Recommends” is to acknowledge and promote some of the great music being submitted to Rock Radio NI. I'll not be giving marks or ratings or analyzing the tracks in great detail; just telling you something about the artist and the album. It’s a personal recommendation to go check something out, not a traditional “review”!

My musical tastes cover most things rock; from the not too melodic to the not too heavy. The albums that I’ll be recommending are those that you’ll hear me playing tracks from on my shows on Rock Radio NI.

Check out NI Rocks on Facebook – www.facebook.com/NIRocks or Twitter - www.twitter.com/NIrelandRocks