It may, or may not, be hard to believe, but it is just slightly more than three weeks to the dawn of the second decade of the 21st Century - and what a year 2010 is already shaping up to be.
From the might of Metallica and the legend that is Deep Purple (appearing in Belfast for the first time in their monumental 40-odd year career), to the ever thriving local pub and club scene, it is going to be one helluva party!
Just to give a little taster - and cementing this blog's reputation as one of the primary sources of news on the local rock and metal scenes - I present for your perusal a listing of all the gigs of which Pied Piper is aware from January onwards. Please note, that the information here is as accurate as I have at the moment and the details of some of the gigs still need confirmed: indeed, a few of the gigs have themselves to be confirmed, but I have stayed away from rumour and speculation and stuck to what I can verify to the best of my ability.
Sit back, take a deep breath, a swig of your favourite poison and hang on tight, 'cos the ride starts here...

Wednesday 6 January
Ozzmium
The Front Page – Doors 8pm £TBC

Thursday 7 January
Black Freeway / Arcane Fire / Sinner Falls
Lavery’s Bunker – Doors 8pm £5

Friday 8 January
Sweet Taste
The Rosetta – Details TBC

Saturday 9 January
Sweet Savage / Soundstone / Sweet Taste / Thunderchild
The Pavilion – Doors 8pm £TBC

Wednesday 13 January
The Rupture Dogs / B.O.Y
Auntie Annie’s – Details TBC

Thursday 14 January
Bandwagon
Lavery’s Bunker – Details TBC

Thursday 14 January
Urban Crime Spree
The Pavilion – Details TBC

Sunday 17 January
‘Battle Of The Bands’
Lavery’s Bunker – Details TBC

Thursday 28 January
Paradise City
Madison’s Basement – Doors 9.30pm £3

Thursday 28 January
Sister Marko
The Rosetta – Details TBC

Friday 29 January
Sister Marko / Third Harvest
The Rosetta – Details TBC

Friday 29 January
Metallitia
Spring and Airbrake – Doors £9pm £11.25

Saturday 30 January
Waylander / Natan / Burial
The Limelight – Doors 5pm £TBC

Saturday 30 January
We Are Resistance / Skruff
QUB Students’ Union – Details TBC

Wednesday 3 February
Marduk / Anaal Nathrakh
The Limelight – Doors 9pm £19

Thursday 4 February
Castero / Awaken Dominion / Existing Threat
Lavery’s Bunker – Details TBC

Friday 5 February
Pearl Jem
Spring and Airbrake – Doors 9pm £11.25

Saturday 6 February
Anger Management / By Any Means
The Limelight – Doors 5pm £7

Saturday 6 February
Vampires Rock
Belfast Waterfront – Curtain Up 8pm £19 - £25

Saturday 13 February
ZEro poInt zero (+ support TBC)
The Pavilion – Doors 8pm £TBC

Tuesday 16 February
We Are Resistance
Auntie Annie’s – Details TBC

Saturday 20 February
Sweet Taste / Others TBC
The Limelight – Doors 5pm £TBC

Saturday 20 February
AC?DC (+ support TBC)
Spring and Airbrake – Doors 9pm £11.25

Sunday 21 February
‘Battle Of The Bands’
Lavery’s Bunker – Details TBC

Thursday 25 February
Paradise City
Madison’s Basement – Doors 9.30pm £3

Friday 26 February
Paradise City – Live
Trucker Diablo / Black Freeway / Circadian
Oh Yeah Music Centre – Doors 6.30pm £3

Saturday 27 February
Interrogate / Others TBC
The Limelight – Doors 5pm £TBC

Monday 1 March
Machine Head / Hatebreed / Bleeding Through / All That Remains
St. George’s Market – Doors 7pm £29

Thursday 4 March
Blaze Bayley / Sinocence
The Limelight – Doors 9pm £16

Saturday 6 March (TBC)
Sweet Savage / Annexe / Den Of Thieves / Ashanti / Triple X
The Rosetta – Details TBC

Sunday 21 March
Skindred (+ support TBC)
The Limelight – Doors 8pm £13

Sunday 21 March
‘Battle Of The Bands’
Lavery’s Bunker – Details TBC

Thursday 25 March
Paradise City
Madison’s Basement – Doors 9.30pm £3

Saturday 27 March
Winger / Stormzone / Worldsend
Spring and Airbrake – Doors 9pm £20

Sunday 18 April
‘Battle Of The Bands’
Lavery’s Bunker – Details TBC

Monday 3 May
Bolt Thrower (+ support TBC)
Spring and Airbrake – Doors 9pm £TBC

Tuesday 11 May / Wednesday 12 May
Metallica (+ support TBC)
Odyssey Arena – Doors 6.30pm £49 - £55

Saturday 10 April
Ashanti / Others TBC
Spring and Airbrake – Details TBC

Tuesday 13 April
Airbourne (+ support TBC)
Mandela Hall – Doors 7pm £19

Friday 23 April
Glamour Of The Kill / Yashin
Auntie Annie’s – Doors 9pm £8.50

Saturday 8 May
Distortion Project – Decade of Aggression
Triggerman / Honey For Christ / Interrogate / Sorrowfall / Slo-Matics / Residual Effect / Sincence / Howlin’ Widow / Gacys Threads / Lesshelp / Two Tales Of Woe / Overoth / Condemned / Devilmakesthree / War Iron
The Limelight – Doors 1pm £TBC

Wednesday 23 June
Pearl Jam (+ support TBC)
Odyssey Arena – Doors 6.30pm £TBC

Monday 28 June
Deep Purple (+ support TBC)
Custom House Square – Gates 6pm £38

Saturday 3 July
Trans Belfast
Gacys Threads + more TBC
Belfast Waterfront – Doors 8pm £TBC

Authors: Monk

Read More: http://piedpiperbelfast.blogspot.com/2009/12/2010-gig-listings.html