Radiation Romeos released their self-titled debut album through Frontiers Music on 2nd June. The band was formed by singer Parramore McCarty who was the original vocalist for 80’s band Warrior and for Steve Stevens’ Atomic Playboys. The name Radiation Romeos actually comes from the song “Atomic Playboys”. I played the track “Bad Bad Company” on the NI Rock A-Z Show uploaded on 5th June.


McCarty returned to the Warrior line-up several times during the 90’s and 00’s and has also released albums under the names Perry 101 (2006), Metal Freqs (2010) and Monster Traxx (2014). He has now teamed up with producer and song-writer Michael Voss on a new melodic hard rock album. And it’s an album that was definitely getting a recommendation as soon as I heard it.


Joining McCarty on the album are Dag Heyne on guitars, Jogi Spittka on bass and Gereon Homann on drums.


There are 11 tracks on the album and all worthy of a mention, but if I was to narrow it down to favourites I’d go with “Radiation Romeos”, “Ocean Drive”, “Bad Bad Company”, “Castaways” and “Ghost Town”. There’s also a great new version of the Monster Traxx track “Monster Traxx”.


Dim lights Embed Embed this video on your site

About “NI Rocks Recommends”

The simple idea behind “NI Rocks Recommends” is to acknowledge and promote some of the great music being submitted to Rock Radio NI. I'll not be giving marks or ratings or analyzing the tracks in great detail; just telling you something about the artist and the album. It’s a personal recommendation to go check something out, not a traditional “review”!

My musical tastes cover most things rock; from the not too melodic to the not too heavy. The albums that I’ll be recommending are those that you’ll hear me playing tracks from on my shows on Rock Radio NI.


Check out NI Rocks on Facebook – www.facebook.com/NIRocks or Twitter - www.twitter.com/NIrelandRocks


Dim lights Embed Embed this video on your site